Looking for Help with EpicAdvice.com

We've recently published a new blog post explaining what's going on with EpicAdvice.com and are looking for someone to work with us to improve the site. If you're interested, have some ideas and want to know more, check out our blog post and feel free to email us at team@epicadvice.com. - Jesta

What order should i read the Warcraft Books in?




I really enjoy the lore of Warcraft and was wondering if you could give some advice on what order i should read the WoW books in or if you could just group the sets together to give me a better idea of what books should be read together.


1 Answer(s)

Sort by... votes newest



I prefer to read the novels in the order that they happened in, which I've taken from the official WoW timeline you can see below. I have left the game references in the timeline so you can better judge around what time each book took place, and bolded each novel. I've read them in this order and I would recommend it, just to keep the storyline straight for you.



War of the Ancients Trilogy:
War of the Ancients Trilogy: The Well of Eternity (Richard A. Knaak)
War of the Ancients Trilogy: The Demon Soul (Richard A. Knaak)
War of the Ancients Trilogy: The Sundering (Richard A. Knaak)

Year -1

(Novel) Rise of the Horde (Christie Golden)

Year 0

(PC Game) Warcraft: Orcs & Humans
(Novel) The Last Guardian (Jeff Grubb)

Year 6

(PC Game) Warcraft 2: Tides of Darkness

Year 8

(PC Game) Warcraft 2X: Beyond the Dark Portal

Year 10

(Novel) Day of the Dragon (Richard A. Knaak)

Year 18

(Novel) Lord of the Clans (Christie Golden)

Year 19

(Novel) Of Blood and Honor (Chris Metzen)

Year 20

(PC Game) Warcraft 3: Reign of Chaos

Year 21

(PC Game) Warcraft 3X: The Frozen Throne

Year 23

(Manga) The Sunwell Trilogy
- The Sunwell Trilogy: Dragon Hunt (Richard A. Knaak & Jae-Hwan Kim)
- The Sunwell Trilogy: Shadows of Ice (Richard A. Knaak & Jae-Hwan Kim)
- The Sunwell Trilogy: Ghostlands (Richard A. Knaak & Jae-Hwan Kim)

Year 24

(Novel) Cycle of Hatred (Keith R. A. DeCandido)

Year 25

(PC Game) World of Warcraft

Year 26

(PC Game) World of Warcraft: The Burning Crusade

Year 27

(PC Game) World of Warcraft: Wrath of the Lich King
(Novel) Arthas: Rise of the Lich King (Christie Golden)
(Novel) Stormrage (Richard A. Knaak)


I added links to amazon for everything except "Of blood and honor" -- It only had a Kindle edition... *shrug* – ♦♦gnarf (Jul 23 2010 10:03 AM)


Great idea, thanks! – kazzamalla (Jul 23 2010 10:41 AM)


+1 for an awesome well thought out answer that exemplifies the SO concept. – EBGreen (Jul 26 2010 9:08 AM)

EpicAdvice.com Sponsors